National Energy Conservation Day

National Energy Conservation Day

   Kautilya Academy    14-12-2019

National Energy Conservation Day

The National Energy Conservation Day is celebrated every year on 14 December. The Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE), under Union Ministry of Power spearheads the celebrations of the day every year since 1991. 
BEE is also observing National Energy Conservation Week from 9-14 December 2019, in order to drive mass awareness about importance of energy efficiency and conservation.

About National Energy Conservation Day
To drive mass awareness about importance of energy efficiency and conservation
To showcase India’s achievements in energy efficiency and conservation.
Every year on this occasion a National Energy Conservation Awards Programme is also organised to recognize and encourage the efforts of various organizations, who have achieved efficient utilization and conservation of energy. The award also recognizes energy efficiency achievements in 56 sub sectors across industry, establishments and institutions including zonal railways, railway workshops and stations, municipalities, thermal power stations, electricity distribution companies, State Designated Agencies, hospitals, hotels, shopping malls and manufacturers of BEE Star labeled appliances or equipment.

National Energy Conservation Awards

The annual energy conservation awards recognize innovation and achievements in energy conservation by the industries, buildings, zonal railways, state designated agencies; manufacturers of BEE star labeled appliances, electricity distribution companies, municipalities and raise awareness that energy conservation plays a big part in India’s response to reducing global warming through energy savings. The awards are also recognition of their demonstrated commitment to energy conservation and efficiency. The scheme has motivated industry and other establishment to adopt energy efficiency measures.

39 sub-sectors of Industry, thermal power stations, office buildings, BPO buildings, hotels, hospitals, shopping malls, zonal railways, railway workshops, railway stations, municipalities, State Designated Agencies and manufacturers of BEE Star labeled appliances/equipment and electricity distribution companies are included in the Awards. In total there are 56 Sub-sectors from the above main sectors.

Electrical energy savings is calculated in terms of equivalent avoided capacity (mw) per year by the participating units through implementation of energy saving projects.

Kautilya Academy App Online Test Series

Admission Announcement for Kautilya Academy Online Courses

Quick Enquiry