Saurashtra team wins Ranji Trophy title for the first time

Saurashtra team wins Ranji Trophy title for the first time

   Kautilya Academy    16-03-2020

The team of Saurashtra had played the final three times in the years 2018-19, 2015-16 and 2012-13 also.

Rajkot: Saurashtra has won the Ranji Trophy 2019-2020 title. The five-day final match between hosts Saurashtra and Bengal ended the draw on Friday. But Saurashtra won the Ranji Trophy title on the basis of a first-innings lead. Saurashtra's team reached the final of this domestic cricket tournament for the fourth time and became the champion for the first time.

In this match, Saurashtra captain Jaydev Unadkat decided to bat after winning the toss. The hosts were all out for 425 runs batting for 171.5 overs. Saurashtra batsman Vasavada hit a 106-run knock and was declared man of the match. Veteran batsman Cheteshwar Pujara scored 66 runs, Avi Barot and Vishwaraj Jadeja played 54-54 runs. From Bengal, Akash Deep took 4 wickets, Shahbaz Ahmed 3, Mukesh Kumar took 2 wickets. Ishan Porel got 1 wicket.

At the same time, the Bengal team could score 381 runs in 161 overs and trail by 44 runs in the first innings. As a result, Bengal was denied the title.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided that in the knockout stage, if a team scores more in the first innings, then that team will be considered the winner. At the same time, if this happens in the league stage, then the team which will gain the edge in the first innings is given 3 out of 4 points.

As you know, Saurashtra participated in the Ranji Trophy for the first time in the 1950–51 season but won the first title after nearly 70 years. The Saurashtra team had also played finals in the previous years 2018-19, 2015-16 and 2012-13, but the team never won the title.

Brief scores:-

Saurashtra: 1st inning – all out for 425 runs in 171.5 overs (Arpit Vasavada 106, Cheteshwar Pujara 66, Avi Barot 54, Vishvaraj Jadeja 54, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 33 not out, Akash Deep 4/98, Shahbaz Ahmed 3/103, Mukesh Kumar2/103, Ishan Porel 1/51 ) & 2nd inning – 105 runs for 3 wickets in 34 overs (Avi Barot 39, Sheldon Jackson 12 not out, Shahbaz Ahmed 2/32, Sudip Chatterjee 1/0 Akash Deep 1/13)

Bengal: 1st inning – all out for 381 runs in 161 overs (Sudip Chatterjee 81, Wriddhiman Saha 64, Anustup Majumdar 63, Arnab Nandi 40 not out, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 3/114, Prerak Mankad 2/45, Jaydev Unadkat 2/96, Chirag Jani 1/32, Chetan Sakariya1/55)

Match in Empty Stadium

The match was being played in an empty stadium due to the threat of Coronavirus. The captain of Saurashtra team Jaydev Unadkat decided to bat after winning the toss. Saurashtra, batting 171.5 overs, scored 425 runs losing all wickets. Arpit Vasavada scored an innings of 106 runs, while Cheteshwar Pujara scored 66 runs, Avi Baroth and Vishwaraj Jadeja scored 54-54 runs.

Highest wicket-takers in a season





Ashutosh Aman




Jaydev Unadkat




Bishan Singh Bedi




Doda Ganesh




Kanwanjeet Singh




About Ranji Trophy

The Ranji Trophy is India's first-class domestic cricket competition. Regional and state cricket associations of the country take part in this tournament. The competition is named after Ranjit Singhji, the first Indian player who participated in international cricket from India. The first edition of Ranji Trophy was organized in 1934. Mumbai has won the Ranji Trophy title for 41 times, while Vidarbha has won this title twice.


Kautilya Academy App Online Test Series

Admission Announcement for Kautilya Academy Online Courses

Quick Enquiry