National Sports Awards, 2020

National Sports Awards, 2020

   Kautilya Academy    24-08-2020

On August 22, 2020, the Government of India announced the National Sports Awards, 2020.

Arjuna Award

This year, 27 sports person have been selected for the award. The winners of the award are presented with a cash prize of Rs 5 lakhs. The award is presented to motivate the sportsperson for their good performances.

Dronacharya Award

The award is to be presented to the following

  • Dharmendra Tiwary for Archery
  • Purushotam Rai for Athletics
  • Romesh Pathania for Hockey
  • Shiv Singh for Boxing
  • Krishan Kumar for Tennis
  • Om Prakash Dahiya for Wrestling

This award tis presented to the coaches for producing medal winners at international sports events.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

The award is presented to sportspersons with most outstanding performance in the field of sports for a period of four years. The following persons have been selected for the award for the year 2020

  • Rohit Sharma
  • Para-Athlete Mariyannapn Thangavelu
  • Wrestler Vinesh Phogat
  • Indian Women Hockey Team Captain Rani Rampal

Dhyan Chand Award

The award is presented for life time contribution to sports development. It is to be given to

  • Kuldip Singh Bhullar and Jincy Philips for Athletics
  • Pradeep Sri Krishna Gandhe and Trupti Murugunde for Badminton
  • N Usha and LAkha Singh for Boxing
  • Sukhvinder Singh Sandhu for football
  • Ajit Singh for hockey
  • Manpreet Singh for Kabaddi
  • Satyaprakash Tiwari for Para Badminton
  • P Bal for tennis
  • Netarpal Hooda for Wrestling

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar

It is to be presented to the Lakshya Institute and Army Sports Institute for identifying and nurturing young talents.

Other Awards

  • Oil and Natural Gas Corporation is to get the award of encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility
  • Air Force Sports Control Board is to be honoured with award for employment of sportspersons
  • International Institute of Sports Management is to get the award for Sports for Development

The awardees are to receive the awards from President Ram Nath Kovind on August 29, 2020 (National Sports Day)

Kautilya Academy App Online Test Series

MPPSC Mains Online Test Series 2019 & 2021

Quick Enquiry